My Journey to Blogging (May I Introduce Myself?)

I always thought it’d be interesting to have a blog. It would allow me to talk (Lord knows I love to do that). Well, in this case write about whatever came to my mind. So, when I first signed up for this site I told myself that I’d have my first blog done within a few days. A few weeks later, it still wasn’t complete. I would push back the blogs completion every single day. I’d tell myself that I was waiting on the right time to do it. It’s not like I didn’t have the time or the inspiration, I just needed to wait on that “right time”, but why? Oddly enough, I was able to find that answer in a video clip my friend posted online. As if it was god-sent, the clip began with a man saying that there will never be a right time in your life to work towards achieving a goal, and if you wait for that perfect moment or that perfect timing, your goal will NEVER happen. You have to dig deep and create the perfect moment, time, and opportunity. The clip was inspiring to say the least.

See, it seems as if the more I waited on that “right time”, the more I talked myself out of pursuing my goals. The more I talked myself out of my aspirations the more I planted the seeds of doubt in my mind. Eventually, that doubt turned to fear. I became afraid. I was afraid of what people would think. I was afraid of failure. I was afraid that my real goal, the goal to keep someone’s spirits high by keeping them entertained, to help someone, or to even just make them think, would go unnoticed…

But now, I can’t be afraid. Because if I allow fear to dictate my life, then I won’t be able to accomplish anything. So here is me writing my first blog. For those of you who have yet to see my about me page, I’ll do my best to sum it up here. I’m a freshman in college. I’m a chemistry major that loves to write. And, I’ve got a lot to talk about. Before I go though, there’s two things I’d like to do.

One, I’d like to leave you with one of my favorite quotes from a motivational speaker named Les Brown. This is for those of you, who like me, have so many dreams, but sometimes allow yourself to become your own worst enemy. Here’s what he says: “The graveyard is the richest place on earth, because it is here that you will find all of the hopes and dreams that were never fulfilled, the books that were never written, the songs that were never sung, the inventions that were never shared, the cures that were never discovered, all because someone was too afraid to take the first step, keep with the problem, or determined to carry out their dream.” Two, I’d like to ask everyone two questions. What has held you back from pursuing or achieving your goal? And, if you to die today, what ideas and what aspirations would die with you?

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed.

13 thoughts on “My Journey to Blogging (May I Introduce Myself?)

  1. This was very well written. I think that is one of the things holding me back. You nailed it when you mentioned the word, FEAR! I know I can write, but I know also that people can be so rude especially those you know. They do not respond. They can’t take time to read. Or if they do, some make fun of me. Especially if they find something that doesn’t appeal to them. I am very different than the average person, I think, but I am too afraid to jump into the flames.
    Awesome piece, here.

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment it really means a lot to me. I completely get what you’re saying because that’s what I was and still am afraid of. But, remember do your best to not let other people get in your way of what you want to do. The people who really are your friends, even if they might make fun at you a little in the beginning, will still show endless support for you. Everyone else, there’s a possibility that they weren’t good friend material in the first place. I hope this comment and my post helped you out a little!

  2. I’ve been blogging since mid summer, and find that it’s easier every day. It takes a while to build up an audience, but they will find you, and you will start getting followers. I enjoyed your thoughts, and I think as you go on you will find it easier to write each day, or each week, depending on how many times you want to do it. I try for every day, but some day just can’t think of anything to talk about. Since I have MS, I write about all the “train wrecks” in my life, and how I have turned them from something most people would sit and cry about into something I find really funny. So mostly, I just talk about my day, the disasters that I turn into laughter, and the fun I have when I break a dozen eggs, or the elevator door, or drag a watermelon bin down the aisle in the grocery store. We all choose to be happy or miserable, and mostly I choose uncontrollable laughter.

    Angie

    • Thank you for even taking the time to read my blog post and sharing your story. I’m just pretty excited right now that I even got two comments on my this one post. I’m definitely going to try for once a week I think juggling school and writing every day would be hectic.

  3. Awesome! Thank The Lord for revelation! Great Job!

  4. oops, sorry. I just wanted to see if I could post anon or not. Uh, good blog thought!!!!!

  5. Such a well-written piece Masha’Allah. Our own fear and perception is what holds us back from achieving our goals. That quote you shared was lovely. I am reading it for the first time.like they say, every grave dweller wishes they can come back!

    Answer to your last question of what has held me back from achieving my dreams -Laziness, lack of confidence and fear of failure. And so to break away from the mould, as per my resolutions, I will be writing the entrance exam for Residency, this 25th , iA

    A Fellow zer to hero-er.

Leave a Reply

